About Christopher Spencer

This is where I describe myself and write things that might be of interest to people who read my articles.

Six Faculty Members Inducted into Teaching Academy

Jeff RyanFAYETTEVILLE, Ark. – The University of Arkansas Teaching Academy welcomed six new members into its ranks in December. The academy is made up of faculty members who have established a record of outstanding teaching, and a mission to promote and stimulate an environment of teaching and learning excellence on the university campus.

One of the new members, Jeff Ryan, also won the Dr. John and Mrs. Lois Imhoff Award for Outstanding Teaching and Student Mentorship. The award recognizes a university faculty member who has demonstrated consistent and committed excellence in teaching, instruction and mentoring.

Ryan is an associate professor of political science in the J. William Fulbright College of Arts and Sciences. Ryan has won numerous teaching awards since coming to the university in 1990, including the Fulbright College Master Teacher Award in 1996 and the Undergraduate Research Excellence Award-Mentor in 1998, 2005 and 2011. He was named an Outstanding Mentor by the Honors College in 2011. Ryan has mentored graduate teaching assistants for decades and has accompanied students on study abroad trips. He is a conscientious program adviser and attentive thesis mentor. His students point to his generosity of time and accessibility, specifically noting the impact he has had on their career achievements.

Continue reading